SQL Developer’s Interface for GIT: Interacting with a GitHub Repository Part 2

In this post I’m going to show to synchronize the remote and local repositories after an existing file in local gets modified. What I’ll do is modify the sp_test_git.pls file in our local repository and then push those changes to the remote repository (GitHub).

First, I proceed to open the sp_test_git.pls file using SQL Developer, add another dbms_output line to it and save it. The moment I save the file, the Pending Changes (Git) window gets updated to reflect the change and the icons in the toolbar get enabled.

modify_file

Now I can include a comment and then add the file to the staging area by clicking on the Add button located on the Pending Changes (Git) window. Notice how the status changes from “Modified Not Staged” to “Modified Staged”.

staged_file

What if I want to compare versions before doing a commit to the local repository? I just have to click on the Compare with Previous Version icon located on the Pending Changes (Git) window.

compare2

The panel on the left displays the version stored in the local repository and the panel on the right displays the version in the Staging Area.

The next step is to commit the changes to the local repository. For that I click on the Commit button located on the Pending Changes (Git) window and then I click on the OK button in the Commit window.

commit

Now the Branch Compare window displays information telling that remote and local are out of sync.

branch_compare2

So the final step is to sync up remote and local by pushing the changes to GitHub. For that I go to the main menu and click on  Team -> Git -> Push to open the “Push to Git” wizard where I enter the URL for the remote repository, the user name and password to complete the operation. Now I go to GitHub to confirm the changes have been applied.

updated_github

One Comment on “SQL Developer’s Interface for GIT: Interacting with a GitHub Repository Part 2”

  1. Thanks for this very helpful post. I never could have figured this out without your post. One thing I noticed, is that I got an authorization error when I deviated from your instructions on the Team…Git..Push step. Unlike your screen shot, I unsuccessfully tried using the “Private Key File” option. When that gave an authorization error, I re-tried again using the “User Name / Password” option, and it worked okay.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.