Kscope13 Thoughts

It has been a week since I returned from Kscope13 in New Orleans and just now I’ve found some time to write about it.

This was my first visit to this city and I really enjoyed running errands to see historic locations and looking for places to try the amazing food they have. It was also nice to see again friends that I got to meet last year in San Antonio and to meet new ones like Amy Caldwell and Bobby Curtis.

The conference had great content as usual and I really enjoyed the presentations that I attended. I came back with a nice list of things to test and see if they are a good fit for the applications I develop/manage.

This year I had the privilege to present for the first time and it was a very positive experience. Surprisingly, my “Introduction to Regular Expressions in Oracle” session was very well attended and I had a good interaction with the audience.

Presentation

I wasn’t expecting too many people because of the day (Thursday, after a bigggg party the night before…) and the time (last session); but it was encouraging to see them trying to make the most out of the conference until the very end. Some of the attendees were very kind to tweet about the presentation (thanks for the picture Amy Caldwell!).  In the end I had a few interesting questions that I’m planning to turn into blog posts.

tweets_presentation

tweet_kscope_richard

Once again ODTUG and YCC did a great job to put together a wonderful event. I’m already looking forward to next year.

The registration and abstract submission for Kscope14 are open. Make sure you get to Seattle to be part of it!

2 Comments on “Kscope13 Thoughts”

  1. You did a fantastic job. I’ve used them in the past, but for very discrete operations (read: I could google the answer). I actually started to understand them, a good thing. Thank you!

    • gbalda says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the presentation. Regular Expressions are very powerful and developers should be aware of them.

      Thanks for stopping by Chet!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.